top of page

Focus Areas

In India, UN-Habitat is devising an integrated and demand-driven approach that combines refining urban planning and design frameworks, providing infrastructure upgrading policy and technical guidance, implementing pilot projects for learning-by-doing, and mainstreaming innovations through testing technology solutions to transform India’s urban landscape. UN-Habitat interventions are focused under following broad pillars:

Focus Area 1
Safe, Inclusive, Resilient and Sustainable Cities and Regions

Improved policy frameworks focused on inclusive planning and sustainable development through effective and participatory planning instruments at the city and regional scale.

Focus Area 4
Accountable and Efficient Urban Governance

Strengthen planning, financing, service delivery and monitoring mechanisms to ensure sustained universal access to basic services and resilient livelihoods. Enable transformative shifts in capacity within the national and sub-national governance regimes to deliver goals aligned with SDGs and other domestic and global priorities.

Focus Area 2
Affordable, Green, and Resilient Housing Environment

Design tools and mechanisms to promote social housing with a focus on energy efficiency and effective waste management strategies.

KGBV HIGH RES-3259.jpg
Focus Area 5
Knowledge Systematization and Learning

Development of capacities and sharing of technical expertise to empower local city authorities to effectively and efficiently undertake their responsibilities and meet the needs and expectations of citizens.

Focus Area 3
Promote Safe, Well Planned and Serviced Neighborhoods

Promote secure and safe livelihoods to enable sustained economic and social mobility, especially for women and youth. Integrate smart technology and participatory models to improve service delivery for all at the neighborhood scale. Integrate safety concerns through sustained dialogue, advocacy and promotion of adequate policy instruments.

bottom of page